Day in the Life of a Hot Yoga Newbie

So the other day, I took my very first Bikram Yoga class. Sure I’ve done yoga before. . . but in a normal temperature room, in the dark, for only an hour. But Bikram Yoga (“Hot Yoga”) in a 105-degree room, with 26 poses and 2 breathing exercises for 90 minutes straight? Never would I even dare think about it. However, once taking a class last Friday, my opinion has changed drastically. I think I found a new love, a new hobby. What can I say. . . I am officially hooked on Hot Yoga. 

When I first entered the studio, I was a little bit intimidated by all the pros that surrounded me. They all looked so fit, flexible and experienced! What are they going to think of me? I can’t even balance on one leg sometimes for more than 10 seconds. However, my nerves disappeared as soon as the class began. Within moments, I found myself attempting all of the poses, breathing through my nose, and concentrating on my posture intently in the mirror. Sure, I fell a few times and couldn’t do some of the crazy back-bends, or stretch my leg quite far as the rest of the class. But the most important thing was that I tried, I didn’t give up, and I stayed in the room throughout the entire 90 minutes. I realized no one was looking at me anyway; everyone was concentrating on their own body and goals, as yoga is a private practice for you and only you. 

When the class ended, I laid exasperated on my mat for a good 5 minutes. When I got up, I have never felt so amazing. My mind felt clear, my body felt healthy, and I was filled with an amazing energy, ready to start my morning the right way! I didn’t even need my morning cup of coffee to get me going; that’s how much of a high I got from the yoga class. All I know is that I’m hooked and am definitely going to buy today’s CoupMe, getting me (and you) 21 days at Bikram Yoga Boston for only $20! A plus? It’s good for all 3 locations: Financial District, Back Bay and Harvard Square!

2 Responses to “Day in the Life of a Hot Yoga Newbie”

  1. Yoga for All! « Says:

    […] be 100%  hooked. I love all types of yoga, including Vinyassa, Power Yoga, Forrest Yoga and even Hot Yoga which I tried for the first time this year using my Bikram […]

  2. Our CoupMe Staff Picks! « Says:

    […] You can read about her experience with hot yoga here: Day in The Life of a Hot Yoga Newbie […]

Leave a Reply

