It’s Always Better with a Buddy, Even Running!


I am probably the last person to write about running. I hate it. I run because I have yet to invest any money in any form of exercise and unfortunately my body does not lose weight automatically (wouldn’t that be nice). I used to do one lap around my neighborhood and call it a day. I soon found that hardly running a mile did next to nothing for me. I have since lengthened my route to an estimated 2.5/3 miles..still have yet to figure out the exact distance. A pedometer or one of those running watches would be helpful. Like I said, not a highly experienced runner.

My new longer route has become grueling for me to complete without stopping. Come the end of the run, I start to walk for a little, run for a little, walk for a little, run for a little.

I originally started this route with my friend, the cooking companion that I have mentioned before. We went running again last night for the first time in several weeks. When we were about 3/4 of the way done with the run, I turned to my friend and said ‘this is so much easier with you here’. I realized we were almost done with the run and I was all good to keep going. This was the first time all summer I completed the run without stopping one time. Additionally, the hill up to my old elementary school usually kills me, but last night it was just fine.

So I have several theories..

1st: Running with a buddy allows you to pace yourself. When I run by myself I tend to go too fast at first which obviously hinders my progress further down the route.

2nd: You have someone to distract you with conversation rather than focusing on how much longer you have to run.

3rd: Sometimes when I am listening to my music, I measure how much further I will run until I can stop by the length of a song. Additionally, my more favorite, upbeat songs tend to make me run at a faster pace, once again hindering my endurance. I have even created a playlist on my iPod named ‘Run, Becky Run’. It’s amusing that my distaste for running has reached the point where I must make a motivational playlist to get me out there running.

And last, but not least: having someone to work out with encourages one to keep going. When you run by yourself, you obviously have the power to stop at any time you please. While walking back to your starting point is better than doing nothing, it’s better to complete the course of your run. When you have a buddy, their mere presence encourages you to keep going!

That’s why today’s Boston and Hartford deals are great deals to help you achieve your fitness goals. Whether it is running your entire route without stopping or losing a certain amount of weight, these forms of group exercise are certainly going to set you on the right track!

But the buddy system really does work. It’s hard to deny the enjoyment other people provide while participating in activities. So even if you aren’t one for classes, training sessions, and gyms..grab a buddy and hit the road!

3 Responses to “It’s Always Better with a Buddy, Even Running!”

  1. Nicole Says:

    http://www.gmap-pedometer.com is the best way to get a route, plot new ones, or even just figure out if your friend who just moved near you is walkable, bikeable, or just take the car.

    I was running 3 miles for a long time, and a few marathoners told me 40 minutes continuous cardio is best for weight loss, so for me that’s 4 miles min. I eventually started running home from work and could easily do the 5.5 or 6 miles (depending on route) because I needed a destination. A loop in the ‘hood just gave me excuses to turn back.

    Best advice though: Doyle’s Emerald Necklace race every April. It’s in Jamaica Plain (you’re out of Boston?) and an easy 5 miler with free beer at the end. Nothing like long beer lines to motivate you to completion!

    Good luck!

  2. healthychicks Says:

    Nicole, sounds like a lot of fun! I just started running myself, and found that it keeps getting easier and easier the more I pace myself and set goals for myself. I used to be out of breath by mile 2 and now I can run 5 miles at a nice, controlled pace!

    Great advice!

  3. CoupMe Says:

    Thanks so much Nicole! I just mapped out my route on the gmap pedometer and it actually ended up being about 3.5 miles! It was kind of tough to get an exact distance because I take some paths to get to other streets, but it calculated to about 3.6 so I rounded down a little bit.

    I live right outside Boston in Framingham so Doyle’s Emerald Necklace race is definitely a possibility. Free beer at the end of a race certainly is a great form of motivation in my opinion!

Leave a Reply

