The Running Series: Cramping

Here I am again, back for some more running advice. I think I know the answer to my problem, but I am looking for more helpful tips. Last night, I went on the usual run I have mentioned before. It’s about 3.5 miles. I was actually looking forward to it all day considering the fact that life has gotten way too busy lately and I can hardly find the time to do any form of exercise.

So there I was, starting out on my run and then I started feeling it. I was hardly out of the neighborhood next door and the awful feeling just start stabbing at me in two different spots! I occasionally get cramps while running, but normally I can walk them off or run them off and proceed with the rest of my run. Last night was a different story though. I had to keel over at one point because they were so brutal.

This is what I had to eat yesterday: Bowl of Special K with Strawberries, a Non-fat Latte from Starbucks, a salad with some tuna, and grapes. I believe it was the non-fat latte plus a lack of sufficient hydration prior to my run that really did me in. I truly wish my body didn’t react to imbalances, but I have a strong belief that it has some type of reaction to just about everything (especially allergies).

Sometimes I think I focus too much on my breathing and it throws me off, other times I guess it’s just the regular process of running. Either way, as an entry-level runner I clearly have yet to figure out how to enjoy my runs cramp-free.

One solution: ditch the run for a bit and hit up some structured form of exercise. In particular…yoga. The one great thing about yoga is that despite your experience level, you can always find a practice that is beneficial to not just your body, but your mind as well.

My first yoga experience was actually back in November. I was dealing with an awful cold that I had been plagued with basically all of fall. I am talking about stage ten dripping, coughing, sneezing, aching, and the works. My roommates can attest to the absolute state of miserableness I was in. But then, after a few classes of yoga, I was cold-free. Imagine that. I couldn’t tell you what did it. Maybe it was just timing, but I do believe these people when they say it can change your life.

Due to summer, I haven’t been inside a yoga studio since early June and I am anxiously awaiting my return to the mat. I figured I’d spend the summer running, but then of course life and cramping got in the way. Perk about yoga: NO CRAMPING! So for all of you out there who find yourself in a running pickle just like myself, maybe yoga or other specialty classes are your solution as well. Check out today’s Boston deal at South End Yoga that will help you get into a regular exercise routine without the cramping!

Please feel free to guide me with what ever cramping conclusions you have come up with too!

~Becky, CoupMe

2 Responses to “The Running Series: Cramping”

  1. Angela Says:

    Becky–that was a great entry and a great segue to today’s offer. I have experienced exactly what you spoke of with running, and realized, after suffering with knee pain and IT band issues, that something was missing out of my exercise routine: yoga. I have practiced yoga on and off for many years, but have recently made a solid commitment to it. I stopped running for about four weeks and only practiced yoga, and already, I can see and feel the difference in how I feel, both physically and emotionally. I just started running again yesterday, and though sore today, I felt more open and less crampy while running.

    Thanks for sharing your story! I can’t say enough about yoga. As an Acupuncturist in Boston, I send many clients to yoga, and the combination works wonders. Good luck with running, and your practice on the mat!

  2. healthychicks Says:

    Check out this brief article on running cramps; couldn’t be a more perfect post. Hope your cramping problems are solved Beck! http://www.bostonhealthcoach.com/training/recovery.html

Leave a Reply

